The comfort of chicken soup

There is something so calming about making a delicious batch of soup. As well as the fact that it’s super easy to whip up, you know it’s going to be good for you and taste delicious. It’s a comforting, homely sort of process too. And chicken soup, well, a properly thick, creamy, flavoursome chicken soup is right up there with the best of recipes. You just know it’s going to warm you right through and give you a pep, especially if you’re feeling under the weather, so it’s perfect for this time of year.

20140112-172757.jpg
Last week I had root vegetable soup for lunch at work and this week I’m making chicken soup. When I’m sitting at my desk looking at the winter weather outside, it’s going to feel so nice at lunchtime knowing that I already have my tasty soup, and don’t need to brave the wind and the rain to fetch it!

I sweated down potatoes, carrots, onions, celery and smoked garlic with some thyme and chicken stock until it was soft enough to blend. I thought I would bulk it out with some more potatoes but turns out, that can make your soup quite starchy and gelatinous! I thinned mine out with more water and it tastes ok – something to remember for next time!

20140112-173220.jpg

20140112-173317.jpg
While the veg was cooking, I poached four chicken thighs in some water. I find that you get more flavour from thighs and wings and they’re a lot cheaper than chicken breast. When the chicken was cooked through, I shredded it ready to be added to the soup.

20140112-173158.jpg
When you’ve blended the veg, stir in your shredded chicken and add some creme fraiche or single cream, depending on how healthy you’re feeling! Season with salt and pepper and you’re good to go!
Approx. 292 calories per serving

20140112-173516.jpg

4 thoughts on “The comfort of chicken soup

    • Hi! I’m glad my post is helping to convert you! I actually based my soup on this recipe from Pret – http://m.pret.com/menu/sushi-salad-soups/cream-of-chicken-soup. I just guessed the veg amount and then cooked them until soft but I would say it was approx: 2 sticks of celery, 6 carrots, too too many potatoes, 2 medium onions and 2 cloves of garlic. Then I added a jug of chicken stock and then more water when I was blending. I used 4 chicken thighs but you could definitely add more. I also kept some of the carrots aside before I blended to keep a bit of chunkiness to the soup.

      I hope this helps and it works for you!

Leave a Reply

