Introducing the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer . . . in cream

Well hello lovely blog readers and a Happy New Year to you all! I’d like to introduce you to the latest bit of equipment in my baking arsenal . . . the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer, a belated joint 18th and 21st birthday present from my parents.

This mixer is the most beautiful piece of cooking equipment I’ve ever used and it makes baking so much easier and faster. It arrived bright and early yesterday morning and I’ve already made a double layered sponge cake with cream and strawberry filling, and some delicious cheese, chilli and bacon muffins.

The cake I made was a combination of 2 recipes from the Great British Bake Off recipe book plus a little bit of inspiration, mainly because I couldn’t find what I needed for the first recipe. I was planning on making a white chocolate sponge cake with cream and strawberry filling and topping – but forgot the white chocolate “d’oh” – so I made a victoria sandwich sponge instead, whipped up the cream filling, layered it with strawberries, put on the top cake layer and then spread melted dark chocolate over that and added extra strawberries! De-licious!

Having read an article by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall this week on savoury muffins I thought I’d give them a go as well. I’ve read a few recipes on cornbread and savoury muffins and so I combined a few different aspects of these into a mix for my ones. I wanted to put cheese and bacon in them but also wanted them to have a little bit of a kick so I finely chopped and de-seeded a very hot red pepper and added that too. I wasn’t sure about chilli and bacon as a combination but thanks to a lovely book, “The flavour Thesaurus”, I was able to check, and bacon and chilli are apparently a classic cornbread flavour combo, success!

Using the mixer made the baking so much easier and I’ve never baked anything so speedily! These turned out so nicely I can’t wait to try a different flavour – sundried tomatoes and feta, ricotta and spinach, or pumpkin and pine nuts – the list is endless!

 

Leave a Reply

