A little bit of whimsical baking

Tom is out for the evening; I’ve run out of recorded programmes on Sky+ to catch up on; the flat for once doesn’t need tidying; there’s only one thing left to do – some whimsical baking! Turns out for once I can actually go ahead with my desire to bake on the spur of the moment as I have all the ingredients I need in my baking drawer to make chocolate chip cookies – flour, chocolate, bicarb of soda,  butter, sugar, vanilla extract, milk.

It’s nice during the week to be able to whip something up quickly, with no planning required, and have a delicious treat at the end of it! I usually bake on Sundays, when I have time to look up a new recipe, go and buy any extra ingredients I need, and take the time to learn any new techniques, but tonight I got the baking buzz and couldn’t ignore it. So, I now have a heavenly smelling plate of cookies sitting in my kitchen!

On a cold, rainy, grey day it’s so nice to sit on the sofa, wrapped in a blanket in front of the telly, with a cup of tea and a warm, melting chocolate chip cookie – perfect!

Ingredients:

half mug of brown sugar

roughly chopped bars of milk and dark chocolate

quarter of a mug of milk

2 mugs of flour

1 tsp of bicarbonate of soda

110g of butter

splash of vanilla essence

pinch of salt

Method:

Cream together the butter and sugar, then add the vanilla. Bit by bit add in the milk and mix together.

In another bowl mix together the flour, bicarbonate of soda and a pinch of salt.

Slowly add the wet ingredients into the dry, combining well. Add in the chocolate chunks and mix again. 

Using your hands mould the dough into small rounds, not too big as the cookies will spread slightly. 

On a tray lined with baking paper, space out the cookies and place in a preheated (190 degrees, 180 fan) oven for 8-10 minutes, until they are slightly golden at the edges. 

The cookies will be soft in the middle but will harden up once out of the oven. If you keep them in too long they won’t have that delicious gooey-ness we all love in a good cookie!

6 thoughts on “A little bit of whimsical baking

    • Heyyy La! Welcome to the world of WordPress! If you lived in London I would of course bring you some, but we have a geographical issue with sharing our baking treats, what with you in the Forest and all! When I next see you I’ll bring you some I promise 🙂

Leave a Reply

