Afternoon tea with a twist

This Christmas, the majority of mine and Tom’s presents were food related (which is no problem at all!). We got a wok, salad servers, bread sticks, an Italian food parcel, serving dishes, cupcake cases, oils, jams and chutneys, plus far too many cookbooks to count. My favourite one was a gift from Tom’s aunty, the Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days recipe book. I am in love with this book – it’s stunning and makes you want to try your hand at all of the recipes.

    

This weekend I decided to turn my hand to their Earl Grey cupcakes. I was hoping I would find the same thing as my enjoyment of coffee, in that, I don’t like to drink coffee, but I love its smell and I love coffee cake. I don’t like to drink Earl Grey either but I was intrigued to see how the flavour would taste in cupcake form.

The begamot orange flavour turned out to be quite subtle and gave the sponge and icing a delicate floral flavour which I found really tasty. Having these cakes as part of an afternoon tea would be great as they incorporate the two key elements of such a meal – refreshing fragrant tea and delicious iced cakes.

    

2 thoughts on “Afternoon tea with a twist

Leave a Reply

