Improvised mini quiches

Earlier this week I made a pie to use up some leftover chicken and ended up with leftover pastry – we never seem to avoid having something leftover in our flat!

Anyway, this was the result – some mini leek, red pepper and onion quiches – so tasty!

I used mini tart cases for this recipe but you could also make one large quiche.

Ingredients:

ready-to-roll pastry
3 eggs
half an onion finely sliced
half a sweet red pepper finely sliced
half a leek finely sliced
2 cloves of garlic
grated cheese – a good handful should do but if you love a cheesey flavour then feel free to add more!
seasoning 

I lined the tart cases with the pastry, added some baking paper with coins (I am yet to buy some baking beans but they’re on my list) to keep the pastry from rising and popped in the oven at 180 degrees for my fan oven (200 degrees non-fan) for 15-20 minutes until golden brown. I removed the mini quiches from the oven and turned the temperature down to about 140 degrees.

For the filling I added the finely chopped pepper, onion, garlic and leek to a pan with some oil and gently fried until golden and soft. In a bowl I cracked the three eggs and gently whisked, to which I then added the cheese. Once the leek, pepper, onion and garlic was ready I mixed this with the egg and cheese until combined.

I divided the egg mixture between tart cases and popped back in the oven for half an hour or so until they were golden and the filling had cooked.

The result? Delicious, full-of-flavour mini quiches!

P.S. this was the chicken pie!

Leave a Reply

