Baked egg bowls and chocolate eclairs

This weekend has turned in to a bit of a bake-a-thon all in all!

As well as making mini quiches yesterday, I also made some wholemeal seeded bread rolls for Tom who wanted to try this recipe I found on Pinterest – the Noble Pig’s Baked Eggs in Bread Bowls. Tom brought me home some wholemeal seeded flour which I got probably far too excited about using but it was such nice flour and made a nice change to the usual plain white bread flour I use! The rolls turned out really well and I’ll definitely be making them again – they’d be perfect for soup or with some cheese or pate.

        

I also decided to try making eclairs this weekend as I was craving chocolate and so I thought I’d give choux pastry a go – it sounded very easy from the recipes I read beforehand.

The recipe I used can be found here and was very easy to follow. The only step I would change would be instead of slicing down the length of the eclairs, make a hole in the end instead. Then pipe the cream filling in the hole in the end rather than trying to scoop the filling down the middle – I think it might work out a bit easier and less messy!

Here are my first attempt at eclairs, they taste great but look a little on the rustic side – with practice I should get them looking neater!

An aside about baking in film:

When Tom gave me the wholemeal flour he’d bought me this weekend, I was reminded of one of my favourite scenes from the film Stranger than Fiction, when Will Ferrell’s character presents a box of different flours to Maggie Gyllenhaal’s character who he really likes. I think this is the cutest take on the usual presenting of flowers to someone you like and I may have to rewatch this film soon just for how lovely this scene is!

4 thoughts on “Baked egg bowls and chocolate eclairs

  1. Well done!! I hope you enjoyed the eclairs. I made some for the first time last week and when i put a slit in the side to release the air….they all flopped :-(( is it just me but although the mixture is easy to make the cooking process can go wrong. Obviously you have the knack 🙂

    • Thanks! Yes some of mine did too – I got a bit worried as I had no one to ask if they were right or not but they tasted nice so have decided they’re ok! My pastry went quite thin and airy, did yours? I wasn’t sure if that was how it’s meant to be – haven’t eaten an eclair in ages so I couldn’t remember what their texture is like! I think it can, the oven temp probably has to be spot on and mine’s a fan so it’s a bit tricky sometimes! 🙂

      • Mine is a fan oven too. I had it set to 140c. I think i may have put too wide a slit in them, maybe next time i will just prick them with the pointed end of the knife.they should be very slightly crispy on the outside and light and puffy inside. Anyway you did well 🙂

Leave a Reply

