Lemon curd filled cupcakes

Today I made lemon curd filled, lemon icing covered, lemon sponge cupcakes – and they’re so yummy!

I followed the sponge part of one of the cupcake recipes from my favourite baking book of the moment – The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days, and edited it slightly by adding lemon juice. I also used a simple buttercream icing recipe which I added more lemon juice to. And, as if that wasn’t enough lemon, I also added Sicilian lemon curd to the middle of the cupcakes. This was really easy to do – just cook the cupcakes as usual and then once they’re cool, cut a circle in the top of the cake and pull out the round of sponge. Spoon in whatever filling you fancy; I used lemon curd for this recipe, but you could also use strawberry jam for a victoria sponge-esque cupcake, custard or chocolate cream to go with a chocolate sponge; and then replace the circle of cake.

I am really pleased with how these turned out – I definitely feel I am mastering the art of baking cupcakes – and I was definitely better at adding the icing this time – there was a lot less icing on me and more on the cakes!

2 thoughts on “Lemon curd filled cupcakes

Leave a Reply

