Sausage Pastry Plait

Sitting in my hot and stuffy office today my plans of a sausage hot pot for dinner did not seem as appealing as it had done the night before. As I’d got the sausages out of the freezer I needed to think of something else to cook for dinner and my thoughts turned to the idea of making a sausage pastry plait and serve it simply with some fresh salad.

This is a great meal to cook if you don’t have much time to spend on dinner or you don’t feel like cooking too much, and it’s super tasty too!

I know this is a baking blog, and I might be scorned for not making my own fresh pastry, but for a quick tasty dinner midweek ready to roll pastry is just so much easier and tastes just as good!

I gently fried some finely chopped onion in a little oil until they turned golden and soft. In a bowl I peeled the sausage skin off the sausages and put all the sausage meat in a mixing bowl. I combined the meat together, added the cooked onions and some sage. (Alternatively, if you have time or prefer, you can get sausage meat from the butchers, but I already had sausages in the fridge!)

Once the sausage meat, herbs and onions are combined, roll out the pastry and line the sausage mix down the middle of the pastry lengthways. To plait the pastry, simply make cuts from the edge of the pastry towards the meat along the length of the pastry sheet and then alternately layer the pastry strips across the meat at an angle.

Bake in the oven at 200 degrees for 20 minutes and then turn the temperature down to 150 and bake for another 15-20 minutes until it is crisp and golden brown.

 

Serve slices of the plait with salad either hot or cold, or hot with chips or maybe with some potato salad and rice salad – delicious!

2 thoughts on “Sausage Pastry Plait

Leave a Reply

