Home-made lamb burgers and sweet potato fries

Last weekend Tom informed me that there would be lots of very important football taking place today but that his best friend, and usual drinking-while-watching-football-buddy, wasn’t available – what was he going to do? I offered my services as a replacement drinking partner and suggested we made a day of it, making something to eat that was tasty and suitable for watching sport and getting in some beers. He was pretty keen, although my claims throughout that I could do a much better job at scoring goals and comments on the players’ hairstyles probably weren’t what he wanted!

Anyhow, as this is a baking/foodie blog, I shall get back to the cooking aspect of the day. We decided to make Hugh Fearnley’s lamb burgers with a mint yoghurt dip, fresh salad, sweet potato fries and home-made mayo (also from Hugh’s everyday cookbook).

 preparing to stack our burgers! 

I found the sweet potato fries recipe while surfing on pinterest. I had pinned the photo of the fries to my food board so went back to see where the picture was pinned from. gimme some Oven is a great foodie blog with really cool photos, and this is where I found the sweet potato fries recipe. It was really easy to follow and they came out nicely, crispy on the outside and fluffy in the middle – perfect! For the coating on the fries I used leftover spices from Tom’s burgers, so my fries had paprika, cayenne pepper, szechuan pepper, coriander seeds, cumin seeds, fennel seeds and cinnamon on them but like the recipe says you can always mix this up and try out new combinations!

This meal was really tasty, and was the perfect partner for beer and football – thank you Tom for making such delicious burgers!

Leave a Reply

