A chance to showcase my baking skills…

Emerald Street and the Hummingbird Bakery are having a cupcake competition – a chance for aspiring bakers to show off their talents at coming up with new cake recipes. The idea is to come up with an American themed recipe that, if you win, the Hummingbird Bakery will bake and sell in their shops.

I came up with 2 ideas I wanted to try out on my lovely colleagues at work – Apple and Pecan pie, with caramelised apple slices inside, and a Salted Caramel, Pretzel cake with a peanut butter sponge.

IMG_4232

IMG_4233Both cakes have a cream cheese frosting; the apple one with chopped pecans in the sponge, apple slices in the centre, and a sprinkling of crumble on the top; the peanut butter sponge has a salted caramel sauce and a jauntily placed pretzel on the top.

I took the cakes into work and tried them out on my colleagues – they loved them! Even my friend who doesn’t like peanut butter thought the pretzel cupcake was delicious – which is great news as this is the one I chose to submit! I felt it would stand out a bit more from the crowd and was the favourite at work. We’ll see how I get on but I’ll definitely make them both again, and start trying out more exciting cupcake ideas!

IMG_4261

IMG_4213 - Copy

IMG_4179 - Copy
IMG_4180 - Copy

4 thoughts on “A chance to showcase my baking skills…

Leave a Reply

