Ratatouille Filo Tart

While we’ve been on the Hairy Bikers’ diet we’ve occasionally been allowed to use a few sheets of filo pastry but always end up with some leftover and I’m not always sure how to make something low-calorie with the pastry. Tonight I decided to try a roasted vegetable tart and while searching for recipes I came across this one from Jamie Oliver for a spinach tart. I had already bought the veggie ingredients, so I decided to use the idea of wrapping up the filling in pastry, and make a veggie, ratatouille tart.

To keep it low-calorie I used v little oil when frying the veggies and then just added a can of chopped tomatoes, a tsp of paprika and lots of black pepper. To give the tart an extra kick of flavour I spread a tsp of pesto across the tart base before adding the filling.

I then cooked it at about 180-190 degrees for 20 minutes until the pastry turned golden brown and crispy!

20130227-205646.jpg

I used courgettes, red onions, red pepper, and aubergine, mixed with chopped tomatoes and paprika to make the filling

20130227-205735.jpg

20130227-205831.jpg

Thinly spread pesto adds some extra flavour to the dish

20130227-205917.jpg

20130227-205934.jpg

The pastry should be golden and crisp, and make a nice crunchy sound as you cut in to it

20130227-210049.jpg

Leave a Reply

