Thank Goodness for Old Reliable

My second lot of baking for the charity cake sale last week was going to be red velvet whoopie pies – sadly this just wasn’t meant to be! I couldn’t find any red food colouring to start with and then for some reason when I made the plain chocolate pies they turned into chocolate brownie type cookies! They were tasty but not what I’d planned at all!

Just in case anything went wrong with the whoopie pies, I’d also bought ingredients to make my favourite Victoria Sponge. I reckon all bakers have one cake or recipe that they can rely on to always turn out well and my old reliable, trusted, and tasty vicky sponge is my fallback. It always goes down well and the recipe I use from The Great British Bake Off cookbook works every time.

The cake sale, raffle and pub quiz at work raised £750 for Comic Relief which is great! We have so many talented bakers in the team it was amazing to see all the cakes, brownies, muffins and cheesecakes that everyone brought in.

Oh, and eating the leftover cake batter is probably the best thing about baking!

20130317-160103.jpg

20130317-155213.jpg

20130317-155632.jpg

20130317-155855.jpg

20130317-155929.jpg

Leave a Reply

