Peach Melba Cheesecake

20130623-195652.jpg
Last week was Tom’s birthday and he placed a request for cheesecake. They are easily his favourite! I decided to make him a peach melba cheesecake, as the recipe I found seemed really easy to follow – I was hopeful I couldn’t mess this one up. Recently all of my cheesecakes have curdled, and even though Tom still eats them and says they’re nice (bless him!), I’m not so sure!

This was the recipe I used, the only bit I didn’t do was the raspberry coulis: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2320639/peach-melba-cheesecake

Peach Melba is a classic dessert, designed by French chef Auguste Escoffier at the Savoy Hotel, in honour of Nellie Melba. It is a combination of peaches and raspberries, served with vanilla ice cream. I love how raspberry ripple looks, the soft swirls of pink through creamy ice cream, it always looks so pretty! I love the colour combo of orangey yellow peach with the hot pink of raspberries – looks great, and tastes great. The cheesecake is a simple mix of soft cheese, icing sugar and double cream, with raspberries scooped through to get the ripple effect. Once the cheesecake mixture starts to set I laid slices of peach in a swirl in the centre of the cake, topped with a handful of raspberries.

For the biscuit base I would usually use plain old digestives as they’re a classic cheesecake base and always taste good but the recipe suggested butter biscuits so I managed to find some buttery crunch biscuits which added a bit more texture to the base, but also a bit more sweetness.

This was a delicious and easy recipe to make, we ate it when it hadn’t really set properly so it was more like an eton-mess-esque serving but I didn’t have enough time to wait for it to set. This didn’t affect the taste though, it was creamy, fruity and sweet – lovely for summer!

20130623-201724.jpg

20130623-201759.jpg

2 thoughts on “Peach Melba Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

