The Greenest Pea & Ham Soup You’ve Ever Seen

We’re nineteen days into this dieting malarkey and the pounds we gained over Christmas are slowly making a retreat. I’ve been running every week and even invested in some proper running trainers – they are bright raspberry and pink so that helps!

20140119-193417.jpg
As you know each week I’ve been making soup to take in to work for lunches and it’s been so good – I’ve spent so much less on food and I’m not snacking anywhere near as much. This week, it is the turn of pea and ham soup. This is one of my favourite soups but quite often, especially if you buy the tinned kind, it’s a weak, grey-green colour and the flavour doesn’t hit you the way a good pea and ham soup should. Peas have such a sweet fresh flavour, when this comes through in a soup, along with the saltiness of the ham, it’s wonderful.

20140119-193455.jpg

20140119-193531.jpg
This recipe is from Good Food and can be found here. I’ve found lots of good, low-cal recipes on the Good Food site, I’d definitely recommend having a search on there next time you’re looking for a new recipe. The recipes are often rated and commented on too so you know they’re tried and tested!

20140119-193648.jpg

20140119-193724.jpg
I checked the packaging for the split peas and it said to soak overnight, as did the recipe but having not realised this and needing to make the soup today I checked it out online. There seem to be differing opinions on this but as long as you rinse the split peas first, it only really affects the cooking time. If you soak them overnight the peas will cook quicker. I soaked mine for a couple of hours and didn’t have any issues with the cooking time.

20140119-193804.jpg
I love the contrast of the pink ham and the bright vibrant green of the thick smooth soup, it just looks so good! I’m really looking forward to this week’s lunches!

3 thoughts on “The Greenest Pea & Ham Soup You’ve Ever Seen

Leave a Reply

